Thursday, 13 October 2016

The Nigeria Prize for Literature Award goes to Abubakar Adam Ibrahim

The Nigerian Literary World is agog with news of Abubakar Adam Ibrahim winning the NLNG-sponsored $100,000 Literature Prize for his work on Season of Crimson Blossoms.

His book beat two other books  Born on a Tuesday by Elnathan John  and Night Dancer by Chika Unigwe to emerge the winner of the prize.

According to the announcement by the Chairman of the Advisory
Board for the prize, Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo at a press conference in Lagos. Ibrahim’s novel, Season of Crimson Blossoms emerged winner from among 172 other entries received for the competition.

According to Professor Ayo Banjo, “It was a strong field this year. The shortlisted entries were very strong and the Board had no difficulty in accepting the recommendation of the panel of judges, considering the subject matter and competent manner in which Ibrahim demonstrated the execution of his work.”
Reacting to the verdict, the General Manager, External Relations at NLNG, Kudo Eresia-Eke, said “It has been a very rigorous process and we are very happy that at the end of the day, both the International Consultant and the Panel of Judges came to an alignment. We are very proud of the quality of entries received. Let me reiterate very clearly that we will continue to support integrity and excellence, which are some of the pillars we have built NLNG’s success as a company on,” he said.

The decision on the winning entry of The Nigeria Prize for Literature was reached by a panel of judges, led by Professor Dan Izevbaye, a well-respected literary critic and professor of Literature in English; Professor Asabe Usman Kabir, professor of Oral and African Literatures at Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto and Professor Isidore Diala, first winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism and professor of African literature in the Department of English, Imo State University, Owerri. The international consultant, Professor Kojo Senanu of the University of Legion, is an internationally acclaimed scholar.

No comments: